Tuesdays With Dorie: The Rugelach that Won Over France

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_7394

 

I have a thing for mini chocolate chips.

Specifically, Ghirardelli mini chocolate chips.

They’re not easy to find, but I’ve lucked out at the Ghirardelli Outlet Store (a chocolate wonderland I pass on trips to my parents’ house in Michigan), Meijer stores (where I shop when I visit my parents), and now, Woodlake Market (a gourmet-ish grocery store I visit occasionally).

These chips have the right balance of sweet and bitter, and hold their tiny, cute shape in baked goods.

They were perfect in this week’s recipe, Rugelach. The chips nestled in with the other filling ingredients (sweetened coconut, toasted pecans, and chopped dried cherries), sticking inside the faux puff pastry (made with cream cheese and butter).

I love that these treats are only lightly sweet, a pleasant change from typical holiday baking. And their diminutive size is at once charming and dangerous. My husband offered threatened asked if he could eat the entire batch.

Dorie suggests filling the dough with any number of sweet or savory fillings. I’m eager to try a savory version with hot chili pepper jelly tucked away in our pantry. These might be the perfect food to cheer on the Auburn Tigers as they take on the Wisconsin Badgers on New Year’s Day. I may live in the Badger State, but I spent six years (and much student loan money) earning my PhD from Auburn, so I cheer “War Eagle” instead of “Go Bucky”!

 

IMG_7392

 

Head over to our group blog, Tuesdays With Dorie, to find the list of bloggers who baked these delightful treats.

2 responses

  1. Ha! My husband was so sad when I wouldn’t let him attempt to eat the entire batch in one night. I settled for Nestle mini chips but I would LOVE to get my hands on some ghiradelli ones, that would have been perfect. Your cookies look great.

    Like

thoughts?

